The Fantasy & Gothic Blog

Illustrated eBooks: Fantasy Art: Warriors & Heroes. iPad Ready

Posted by Catherine Taylor

Fantasy Art, ebook cover and spreads

We've just released a gorgeous digital-only edition of a brand-new book: Fantasy Art: Warriors & Heroes. 192pp pages of artwork, showcasing amazing paintings from fabulous contemporary artists. It's available on the Apple iBookstore and is designed for the iPad Retina display which shows off the detailed and glorious art. We're very excited to see what you think!

About the eBook

This is an incredible illustrated ebook in the Fantasy Art series, ideal for iPad. Warriors & Heroesby Russ Thorne, with foreword by legendary artist Ken Kellyis a stunning display of incredible, contemporary fantasy artwork, a complement to its bestselling predecessor, Dragon Art. The first section covers 'Masters & Origins' and introduces some of the writers, characters and artists who helped to shape the fantasy world as we know it today – including James Allen St John, Roy G. Krenkel, the Hildebrandt Brothers and of course Frank Frazetta. A fascinating discussion of warriors and fantasy art follows on, running throughout the book, accompanied by a large selection of works by the best of the current crop of fantasy artists, such as Brom, Martin C. Hayes, Alex Horley, Jason Juta, Alan Lathwell, Jason Engle, Lucas Graciano, Adele Lorienne and many more. The majority of the recent work that features in the book was created in digital media, reflecting the use of the most up-to-date methods. Warriors & Heroes is also interspersed with features on artists' works-in-progress, providing invaluable insight on techniques and tools. It is a feast of visual imagination and a must for all fans of fantasy art. Best viewed on an iPad with a retina display: it's a large book but it's worth it!

The Artists

One of the main reasons for this post is to feature links to the excellent contributing artists, as a small thank you for becoming part of this project. So, here they are:

Adele Lorienne: www.meadowhaven.net

Alan Lathwell: www.alanlathwell.cgsociety.org

Alex Horley: www.alexhorleyart.com

Bob Kehls: www.bobkehl.blogspot.com

Brom: www.bromart.com

Bryan Syme: www.bryansyme.com

Chris Kuhlmann: www.kuhlart.com

Cris Ortega: www.crisortega.com

Daren Bader: www.darenbader.blogspot.co.uk

Dan Scott: www.danscottart.com

Daren Bader: www.darenbader.com

Daren Horley: www.darenhorley.carbonmade.com

Daryl Mandryk: www.mandrykart.com

Del Borovic: www.delborovic.com

Derrick Song Weng Foong: www.derricksong.deviantart.com

Dusan Marcovic: www.markovicdusan.com

Frank Hong: www.artbyfrankhong.com

George Rushing: www.georgerushing.com

Glen Orbik: www.orbikart.com

Greg and Tim Hildebrandt: www.spiderwebart.com

Herckeim: www.herckeim.deviantart.com

Igor Ivanovic: www.igorivart.blogspot.com

Jason Engle: www.jaestudio.com

Jason Juta: www.jasonjuta.com

Ji Zhang: www.zj1984.cghub.com

Jonas De Ro: www.jonasdero.be

Kajsa Flinkfeldt: www.facebook.com/Flingeling

Ken Kelly: www.kenkellyfantasyart.com

Kirsi Salonen: www.kirsisalonen.com

Larbesta: www.larbesta.deviantart.com

Leslie J. Lee: www.lesliejlee.com

Long Ouyang: cargocollective.com/long0800

Lucas Graciano: www.lucasgraciano.com

Magnozz: www.magnozz.blogspot.com

Matthew Stewart: www.matthew-stewart.com

Michael C. Hayes: www.artofmike.com

Mikaël Léger: www.ConceptArtist.eu

Mike Penn: www.MichaelJPenn.com

Ming Fan: www.blog.sina.com.cn/fanming2008

Nacho Molina: www.nachomolinablog.blogspot.com

Nick Deligaris: www.deligaris.com

Pablo Ciomei: www.behance.net/pablociomei

Paul Alexandrescu: www.Lexpaul.com

Pete Thompson: www.atomhawk.com

Remton: www.remton.deviantart.com

Rob Shields: www.robshields.net

Sarel Theron: www.sareltheron.com

Sutat Palama: www.ninejear.deviantart.com/gallery

Tiago da Silva: www.tiagodasilva.com

Wang Lin Fang: www.fangwangllin.deviantart.com

Xue Duan: www.xueduan.cghub.com

Yu Cheng Hong: www.yuchenghong.com

Yu-Han Chen: www.yu-han.cghub.com

Fantasy Art, ebook example 1

Fantasy Art, ebook example 2

Foreword by Ken Kelly

Ken Kelly is a long-established and successful fantasy artist. He’s been drawing since he was knee-high and hasn’t stopped since, getting his break into the industry after showing his work to his Uncle Frank (Frazetta), who got him in touch with Warren Publishing for his first assignment. The power and dynamism of Frank’s style can be felt in Kelly’s work, which covers a wide range of warriors and heroes, including Conan the Barbarian and Tarzan, as well as many album covers for rock bands such as KISS.

Links

  • See what Ken Kelly's up to now – including painting Gene Simmons' basses!

  • The beautiful colour illustrated ebook is available through itunes here.

  • Check out the reviews for predecessor title Dragon Art here.

  • We have other illustrated ebooks, including Dragon Art, Gothic Art, see our Fantasy Art Pinterest Board.

Fantasy Art, Dragon art, digital art

Topics: Frazetta, warriors and heroes, art and design, digital books, Frank Frazetta, digital art, ipad ready, Conan, Ken Kelly, fantasy art, dragon art, Illustrated Art Books