Hubspot_manga-sm

Fantasy & Gothic Blog

Illustrated eBooks: Steampunk. iPad Ready

Posted by Nick Wells

Steampunk, illustrated ebooks, fantasy art, digital artWe've just released a digital first publication in our Gothic Dreams series: Steampunk. 128 pages of colour illustrations, packed with brilliant art from fabulous contemporary illustrators. It's available on the Apple iBookstore and is designed for the iPad Retina display which shows off the detailed and glorious art. We're absolutely delighted with it.

About the eBook

Imagine a world where steam is the main source of power, but the attitudes are distinctly futuristic – the romance of the past meets the technology of the future. Steampunk is a subculture on the rise, an exciting mix of adventure and sci fi in a world full of cogs and rivets, goggles and corsets. Influenced by the worlds created by H.G. Wells and Jules Verne, Steampunk has grown into a movement encompassing fashion, art, movies, literature and even music. Films such as The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen catapulted steampunk to the big screen, whilst events have sprung up all over the world in which fans create magnificent costumes and put steampunk twists on modern devices. As you read this exciting new book, enjoy a stunning selection of artworks portraying the ecstatic fantasy of steam-powered worlds. The text is written by sometime contributor to ImagineFX Henry Winchester and the foreword by steampunk afficianado G.D. Falksen.

The Artists

One of the reasons for this post is to highlight the contributing artists, as a small thank you for becoming part of this project. Each illustrator has their own distinct style and between them they cover every facet of Steampunk. So, here are the artists, with links to their own websites:

Alex Alsina: aalsina.deviantart.com

Paul Alexandrescu: lexpaul.com

Katt Amaral: designbykatt.deviantart.com

John Barry Ballaran: jbballaran.deviantart.com

Bernard Bittler: bittler.cghub.com

Benjamin Carré: www.blancfonce.com

Jan Ditlev Christensen: www.janditlev.com

Derek Criler: dcriler.blogspot.co.uk

Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd: www.cubicle7.co.uk

Rita Fei: jujufei.deviantart.com

Brooke Gillette: brookegillette.weebly.com

Kelley Hensing: wickiearts.com

Jon Hodgson: www.jonhodgson.com

Cory Jespersen: http://coryjespersen.com

Jason Juta: www.jasonjuta.com

Kachinadoll: kachinadoll.deviantart.com

Nicholas Kole: nicholaskole.blogspot.co.uk

Pavan Krushik Artworks: www.facebook.com/PavanKrushikArtworks

Jenny Lehmann: www.jennyeight.com

Lindsey Look: www.lindseylook.com/Lindsey_Look_Illustrations.html

Lycilia-Art: lycilia-art.de

MADmoiselleMeli: madmoisellemeli.deviantart.com

Cris Ortega: www.crisortega.com

Pinkabsinthe: pinkabsinthe.deviantart.com

Nigel Quarless: nigelquarless.com

Gina Roma: www.ginaroma.es

Ram Singh: ramnation.wordpress.com

Doug Sirois: www.dougsirois.com/Index/DAS_HOME.html

Matilde Søltoft: noname-face.deviantart.com

Timothy B. Tupaz: timothytupaz.blogspot.co.uk

steampunk2

steampunk1

The Foreword Writer

In his own words, G. D. Falksen is an author, lecturer, public speaker, and MC. He also studies history, is a consultant for Disney and blogs for Tor.com and ComicMix.com. While his repertoire spans a range of topics, he is currently most noted for his steampunk work and is one of the most recognizable figures in the steampunk literary genre and the related subculture. He is the author of The Hellfire Chronicles series, which includes Blood In The Skies and Ash On The Wind, and the Ouroboros Cycle series. Other fiction includes “The Strange Case of Mr. Salad Monday”, “Cinema U”, “An Unfortunate Engagement”, and “The Mask of Tezcatlipoca”. His work has appeared in Steampunk Tales, Steampunk Magazine, The Chap, Egophobia, and anthologies such as Footprints, Steampunk Reloaded, and The Immersion Book of Steampunk. He has appeared as a guest at various events, including Dragon*Con, New York Comic Con, and the Montreal Comiccon. He has appeared in The New York Times, The San Francisco Chronicle, the Hartford Courant, Marie Claire Italia, BoingBoing.net, Time Out New York, and New York Magazine, and on MTV, NHK, VBS.tv, Space, and io9.com. He is the lead writer for Hatboy Studios, Inc., creators of the steampunk-themed video game AIR. Mr. Falksen is represented by the DystelGoderich Literary Management agency. 

Links

  • Check out G.D. Falksen's official webpage here.

  • The full-colour illustrated ebook is available through the iBookstore here.

  • The print book is available through all good bookshops and online at Amazon and through our own website here.

  • We have other illustrated ebooks, including Dragon Art, Gothic Art, see our Fantasy Art Pinterest Board.

Quick and Easy Recipes, baking bread, cheap easy recipes

Topics: gothic dreams, Steampunk, fantasy art

Subscribe for email updates